Kings and Queens of Tlatelōlco

I’ve done linguistic analyses of the names of the queens and kings (tlahtohqueh) of the three seats of power in the Triple Alliance (Aztec Empire): Tlacōpan, Tetzcohco, Tenōchtitlan.

That last one sat on an island with its sister city, Tlatelōlco.

What about its rulers?

Now, Tlatelōlco means “place of the tlatelōlli,” or man-made hill. After a schism split the Mexica people, half of them moved to the northern end of the island, away from Tenōchtitlan, around 1337 CE. They erected a temple on a mound of dirt, essential for…